Skip to main content

Laura de Mello e Souza awarded the 2024 International Prize for History CISH

The fourth edition of the International Prize for History CISH 2024 will be awarded to Laura de Mello e Souza, for her intellectual and academic career, alongside the exceptional quality, originality and uniqueness of her work.

For more than four decades, Laura de Mello e Souza has engaged with various trends and waves in historiography, both international and Brazilian, contributing to the progress of historical research and to the dialogue between cultures, opening many new perspectives and training generations of scholars. Social and cultural history have always been her fields of choice, but she has also combined them with political, religious, and literary history.

Among her many publications, many translated into different languages, a few may be mentioned here:

  • Os Desclassificados do Ouro, published in 1983 (translated into French: Les déclassés de l’or. La pauvreté dans le Minas Gerais au XVIIIe siècle, Paris: Le Poisson volant éditeur, 2020);
  • O Diabo na Terra de Santa Cruz (published in English as The Devil and the Land of the Holy Cross: Witchcraft, Slavery, and Popular Religion in Colonial Brazil, Austin: University of Texas Press, 2003; and in Spanish as El diablo en la tierra de Santa Cruz: hechichería y religiosidad popular en el Brasil colonial, Madrid: Alianza, 1993);
  • O Sol e a Sombra: política e administração na América portuguesa do século XVIII  (São Paulo: Companhia das Letras, 2006);
  • Cláudio Manuel da Costa: o letrado dividido (São Paulo: Companhia das Letras, 2011).

The award will be delivered during the ICHS/CISH General Assembly in Tokyo on October 27, 2024.
Please find here the Board’s statement for the 2024 International Prize for History CISH to Laura de Mello e Souza.

ICHTH–INTH Book Prize for the History and Theory of Historiography – Call for Applications 

The International Commission for the History and Theory of Historiography (ICHTH) and the International Network for Theory of History (INTH) jointly award a Book Prize and a First Book Prize, worth $500 each, for the Best Book and Best First Book on any aspect of the history and theory of historiography. The Prize is supported by the journal Storia della Storiografia

Submissions are now open for the 2024 ICHTH–INTH BEST BOOK AND BEST FIRST BOOK (published between 1 January 2021 and 31 December 2023) 

The Prize focuses on books in the field of the history and theory of historiography. A book is any single-author publication with an ISBN. There are two categories: Best First Book and Best Book, with the former targeting first works (including published Ph.D. dissertations) of early-career scholars and the latter targeting all other works. Authors may submit only one book. 


  • The submitted book should be published between 1 January 2021 and 31 December 2023.
  •  The submitted book should be in English, French, German or Spanish (based on the linguistic competence of the Prize Committee).
  • The following materials should be submitted to the Prize Committee:
    (1) one hard copy of the book: please send to Berber Bevernage, History Department, Ghent University, St. Pietersnieuwstraat 35, 9000 Ghent, Belgium.
    (2) a pdf of the book (for internal use of the Prize Committee): please send to
    (3) a pdf with curriculum vitae and list of publications: please send to

All scholars, whether ICHTH or INTH members or not, can submit. Pdfs should not exceed 25 MB.
Each e-mail will receive an automatic response acknowledging its receipt. 

The Prize Committee consists of four scholars nominated by ICHTH and INTH: Prof. Berber Bevernage (Ghent University, Belgium), Prof. Lizette Jacinto (Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, Mexico), Prof. Lize Kriel (University of Pretoria, South Africa), and Prof. Marek Tamm (Tallinn University, Estonia). 


  • Deadline for electronic submission is 31 December 2023 (early submissions are
  •  A shortlist of selected candidates will be determined by 20 April 2024.
  • An announcement and celebration of the Prize will be held on 22–24 May 2024 at
    the INTH conference in Lisbon.

    Storia della Storiografia will publish two Fora dedicated to the Prize winners: Forum for the Best First Book and Forum for the Best Book. Both Fora will consist of a summary of the winning book by the laureate, three review essays, and a rejoinder by the laureate.

    Prize updates are available at and

2023 Dan David Prize award ceremony

The Dan David Prize is awarded to outstanding early and midcareer scholars and practitioners in all historical disciplines. The award ceremony celebrating 2023 winners took place on Wednesday, May 17, at Tel Aviv University.

Watch the 2023 Dan David Prize award ceremony:

Nomination for the 2024 Dan David Prize will open on June 14, 2023.
Full details of the nomination process can be found on the prize official website.

Walter Markov Prize 2023 – Call for applications

The European Network in Universal and Global History (ENIUGH) has announced the Walter Markov Prize 2023 and applications are open. The prize honours an outstanding PhD- or MA-thesis that contributes to the research fields of Walter Markov, especially the comparative exploration of revolutions; social movements and decolonisation processes in Africa, Asia, and Latin America; historiographical traditions in various national contexts; and academic internationalisation in the course of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Papers that are submitted for the Walter-Markov-Prize are expected to take a global perspective on its subject, either by addressing it from a comparative point of view, by examining processes of cultural transfers, or by seeking to understand the entanglements of various spatial frameworks.

The deadline for submissions is 30 April 2023.

More details and the full Call for Applications can be found here